Galaxy Television Menu

Ambassadors: Senate Confirms Ex-Service Chiefs as Diplomats

Ambassadors: Senate Confirms Ex-Service Chiefs as Diplomats

The Nigerian Senate Tuesday confirmed as non-career diplomats the country's five ex-service chiefs.

This is a sequel to the presentation during the plenary of the report by the Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs which conducted the screening of the ambassador designates forwarded to the Senate by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Galaxy's Godfrey Eshiemoghie reports that the report was read on the floor of the Red Chamber by Chairman of Foreign Affairs Committee, Sen. Mohammed Bulkachuwa.

Shortly after the report was read, Minority Leader, Senate Minority Leader, Eyinaya  Abaribe questioned why petitions raised during the screening process were not considered, this prompted some debate.

Upon confirmation of the five new non-career diplomats under controversial circumstances, the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, said the ex-service chiefs need to be well rewarded for their service.

On February 10, Gen. Abayomi Olonisakin (Rtd), Lt. Gen. Tukur Buratai (Rtd), Vice Admiral Ibok-Ete Ibas (Rtd), Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar (Rtd), and Air Vice Marshal Muhammad Usman (Rtd) appeared before the Committee on Foreign Affairs.

Related Articles

The following 6 pages may interest you as well: